Soundtrack for “Star Trek Discovery” Coming Soon

CBS announces release of Star Trek Discovery soundtrack

CBS announces Discovery soundtrack release details

CBS has announced that the soundtrack for Star Trek Discovery‘s first chapter will be released in the coming weeks.

Created by Emmy Award winning composer Jeff Russo, and distributed by Lakeshore Records, the soundtrack will cover music from the first chapter of the first season of the series.  According to CBS, it will be available in digital forma on December 15, 2017.  For those who can’t wait, pre-sales start up on December the 8th.  It’ll also become available on CD and vinyl some time in early 2018.

Cover of the Star Trek Discovery soundtrack
Cover of the Star Trek Discovery soundtrack

Series co-creator Alex Kurtzman says it’s “[g]rand, glorious, hopeful, heartbreaking, intimate, bittersweet, tense, soaring, surprising. Over 51 years, in its many iterations, there’s been no shortage of adjectives to describe the music of Star Trek

“On the other hand, the list of composers capable of capturing them all is short, and this is where Jeff Russo comes in. Jeff manages to hold each note in beautiful balance, evoking the nostalgia of Alexander Courage’s original theme while scoring Discovery with his own unique ear and heart. We’re lucky to have him, and we hope you’ll love his music as much as we do.”

Russo also commented on the release of the soundtrack, saying “the producers and I talked a lot about telling this story from an emotional point of view. Relationships play a big role in this incarnation of the series, so trying to be true to that and create themes that connect characters is important.”

Here’s what the soundtrack will include.

  1. “Main Title (Aired Version)”
  2. “We Come in Peace”
  3. “First Officer’s Log”
  4. “I’ll Go”
  5. “The Day is Saved”
  6. “Torchbearer”
  7. “PTSD”
  8. “Persistence”
  9. “Stranded”
  10. “What Did You Mean by That?”
  11. “I Can’t Dance”
  12. “Captain Mudd”
  13. “Stella”
  14. “Facing Off”
  15. “Undetermined”
  16. “Watch the Stars Fall”
  17. “Weakened Shields”
  18. “What’s Happening?”
  19. “Personal Log”
  20. “The Charge of Mutiny”
  21. “Main Title (Extended)”

There’s no word on if CBS will also be releasing the soundtrack for Chapter 2 of the first season.


← Share this with your friends now!

leave a comment or question below

About Enrico Pastellio

Rico became a Star Trek fan after being introduced to it during Star Trek Enterprise's run. After finishing that series, he went back watching TNG, DS9, VOY, and most of the movies. He's a big fan of Star Trek (2009) for its action, but favors the cerebral nature of each tv series. When Rico first heard about the new Star Trek Discovery series (then just know as 'Star Trek'), he immediately wanted to start up a new site about the show. You can email him at

  • Michael Kurland

    Obviously, both versions of the “Main Title” will have to have an asterisk or another mark to have down below “Includes Theme from ‘Star Trek’ Composed by Alexander Courage.” I wasn’t too sure about this theme when I first heard it, until the fanfare from the Original Series finally was heard. I hope that Jeff Russo will include a few more familiar motifs in future episodes.